May 1

God has no purpose. God is not bound by any action, just as the sun is not bound by the activities of the people of this world. God acts out of compassion for the individual soul. His sole purpose is to see that His creatures evolve spiritually.

God is the lover and the beloved at the same time. Justice, love and goodness are expressions in the divine will.

‘Bhagavān’ – ‘bhaga’ signifies the six qualities of God. These are: jnāna (wisdom), vairāgyam (dispassion), kirti (fame), śrī (prosperity or wealth, divine aiśvarya), śakti or bala (omnipotence),and dharma (righteousness).

According to the Praśnopanishad, there are fifteen kalas, or rays of God. These are: prana (life), faith, sky, air, fire, water, earth, senses, mind, food, strength, penance, mantra (mystic formula), karma (action), and name.

God has hands and feet everywhere. He has heads and eyes, mouths and ears everywhere. He is immanent in the world – possessing the vast whole. God breathed into man the breath of life and man became a living soul.

Pleasure is due to virtuous actions and pain is due to vicious actions. Virtue and  vice  constitute  adṛṣṭa (unseen  potency).  The  various experiences of man are due to this adṛṣṭa. But adṛṣṭa is a blind force – it needs an intelligent director to guide it. And that intelligent director is God.

God is the verity of all verities. There is a moral and spiritual order through which is fulfilled the will of the Lord in the world. God has created not only the world, He has also created time along with it. God’s knowledge is eternal, complete and perfect.

Who can know the will of God? He who knows God, he alone can know His will. God and His will are one. The Lord is the supreme healer – He is the divine indweller in all medicines.

Swami Sivananda

[Total: 0    Average: 0/5]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Post comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.